Space owners and managers can now control who can view the full list of members in a Google Chat space, providing enhanced privacy and administrative control for sensitive, large-scale, or external collaboration spaces.Previously, any member of a Google Chat space could view the complete list of participants. We are introducing a new space setting—View members—that allows space owners and managers to restrict member visibility within one of four permission levels:Owners onlyOwners & managersAll members (default)Entire organizationSimilar to membership privacy controls in Google Groups, there are scenarios where limiting member list visibility enhances organization security or privacy:Customer spaces: Collaborating with multiple external clients, vendors, or partnersSensitive forums: Allowing users to join communities on sensitive topics without revealing their membership in that communityConfidential projects: Prevent participants in broad project spaces from seeing every internal or external user who has been added to the initiativePlease note that regardless of the member visibility restriction, users will always be able to see the name and profile of anyone who actively sends a message in the space.Getting startedAdmins: There is no admin control for this feature.End users: Navigate to Space Settings > Membership > View Members permission control, and select the desired visibility level.Rollout paceRapid Release and Scheduled Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) started on August 24, 2026AvailabilityAvailable to all Google Workspace customersResourcesGoogle Help: Manage view members permissions in Google Chat
Google ChatRapid ReleaseScheduled ReleaseTECHNOLOGY


